What paint to use on kitchen cupboards

The paint types compared from their own data sheets: drying, curing, yellowing, scrub ratings, odour, and what 'no primer needed' really means.

Updated 28 October 2026 · The Kitchen Resprayer

The short answer

A paint made for interior wood (a satinwood, eggshell, furniture or cupboard paint, usually water-based) over the primer your door surface needs, in thin coats, left to cure.

No source read crowns a single best type. Compare the data sheet, not the front of the tin: drying times, cure, yellowing and scrub class vary widely.

Start with two paints, not one

Which? says you need a primer and a top coat, and that the top coat should be "a paint designed for wooden surfaces". Its traders recommend professional-grade paint as "a must if you want the result to be long lasting", adding that the extra cost "is often balanced out as you use fewer coats".

Wall emulsion isn't on the list. Every paint below is sold for wood, and one UK decorator says durable matt emulsion "won't stand up to heavy cleaning or a lot of condensation". The primer depends on what your doors are: see primers by surface and laminate and melamine.

The paint types

Water-based acrylic satinwood or eggshell

Trade wood paints thinned and cleaned with water. One sheet calls itself a "virtually solvent free alternative" to solvent satin with "no visible yellowing".

Self-crosslinking water-based satin

One sheet describes a "self-priming, ambient cross-linking, water-based acrylic satin".

Furniture and cupboard paints

Water-based paints sold for cabinets; two of those read quote the top wet scrub class.

Hybrid (water-borne alkyd)

Water-based with some alkyd oil. One UK decorator thinks that makes it more durable for a kitchen.

Solvent-based satinwood or eggshell

Alkyd, thinned with white spirit, brush or roller only. Retailers say it is tougher; its own maker warns whites discolour.

Chalk paint plus lacquer

Needs a wax or sealant on top. One maker lacquers it for strength and says it takes two weeks to harden.

Trade lacquers

One-pack pre-catalysed or two-pack acid-catalysed, spray only, labelled "for professional use only".

Drying is not curing

Type (one product each)Touch dryRecoatFull hardness
Water-based acrylic satin1 to 2 hours4 to 6 hoursNot stated
Water-based acrylic satinwoodDepends on conditions6 hoursNot stated
Self-crosslinking water-based satin30 minutes1 to 4 hoursUp to 3 to 7 days
Water-based furniture paint1 hour16 hoursOne month
Water-based cupboard paint1 hour4 hours7 days
Hybrid water-borne urethane alkyd1 hour8 hoursAbout a month
Solvent-based alkyd satinwood4 to 6 hours16 to 24 hoursNot stated
Chalk paint under water-based lacquerNot stated1 to 2 hours (lacquer)Two weeks
Trade pre-catalysed lacquer10 minutes45 minutesNot stated
Trade acid-catalysed lacquer15 to 20 minutes1.5 hoursFull resistance 21 to 28 days

Each row is one product's data sheet, at its maker's stated conditions, read 28 October 2026; 'not stated' means that sheet gives no figure. Read the sheet for the tin you buy.

Thirty minutes to touch dry can still mean a month to full hardness, so a quick-drying paint doesn't mean a kitchen you can use roughly by the weekend. The how-to page has a full drying and curing table for DIY products.

Yellowing, scrubbing and smell

Type (one product each)Yellowing, in the sheet's wordsWet scrub classVOC (UK legal cap)
Water-based acrylic satin"No visible yellowing"Not stated2 g/l (130)
Water-based acrylic satinwood"Non-Yellowing"Not stated79 g/l (130)
Self-crosslinking water-based satinNot statedClass 12 g/l
Water-based furniture paint"Does not turn yellow"Class 1130 g/l (130)
Water-based cupboard paintNot statedClass 120 g/l
Hybrid water-borne urethane alkydNot statedNot stated130 g/l (130)
Solvent-based alkyd satinwoodWhites "will all discolour over time"Not stated300 g/l (300)
Trade lacquersNot statedNot stated"Out of scope" of the VOC directive

Caps from the Volatile Organic Compounds in Paints, Varnishes and Vehicle Refinishing Products Regulations 2012: trim paints 130 g/l water-borne, 300 g/l solvent-borne.

Yellowing

The solvent satinwood's own sheet says white solvent-based paints all discolour, faster where there is little natural light, and recommends water-based for lasting whiteness. Inside a wall unit counts as low light.

Scrub class

Under EN 13300, Class 1 is under 5 microns worn away after 200 wet scrubs. It measures cleaning, not knocks or chips round the handles. "Scrubbable" with no class is a claim, not a rating.

Smell

The solvent satinwood sits right at its 300 g/l legal limit; the water-based sheets read run from 130 g/l down to 2.

'No primer needed' and 'self-priming'

Read past the front of the tin. One cupboard paint says "No priming or sanding necessary", then in its preparation section says abrade "a hard or glossy or previously painted surface", and that it is "Not a stain blocking product". One self-priming satin still says degrease and "rub down thoroughly with a medium grade sandpaper". One "self undercoating" solvent satinwood still says bare surfaces "should be primed".

Undercoating hides the old colour; priming makes the paint grip and seals what's underneath. Which? says painting without sanding "won't last". A few primers do claim to grip gloss without sanding; few top coats say so in their technical sections.

Matt, satin or gloss

SheenWhat sources say
MattWickes: "easily scuffed and marked". B&Q: can absorb stains and be hard to clean
Satin or eggshellB&Q: adds sheen "without highlighting their flaws". One UK decorator: grease won't stain eggshell like matt
Semi-glossWickes: "often recommended"
GlossOne DIY blogger avoids it: it shows every imperfection

Sheen is also a number: one water-based satin is 35%; trade lacquers are sold from 10% up to 70% or 90%. Silk is a wall-paint term.

Brush, roller or spray

Solvent satinwood

Its sheet says brush or roller only; spraying solvent paint is not recommended for health and safety reasons.

Water-based satinwood

Brush, roller or HVLP spray; lightly dampen the brush to help it flow.

Hybrid

Brush, mohair roller, pad or spray; smooth roller marks on flat doors with a pad or brush.

Trade lacquers

Designed for spray application. Kit, thinning and safety: spray painting kitchen cupboards.

Retail or professional grade

Which? priced a medium kitchen of about ten units in November 2025, using about 5 litres of top coat: £20 standard, £100 professional. That works out at roughly £4 a litre against £20 (our sum from its figures). Primer costs the same again.

Two-pack systems and the trade lacquers are spray-only, mixed or supplied for professional use, and HSE says two-pack isocyanate paints are one of the main causes of occupational asthma in the UK. If that's the finish you want, it's a job for a sprayer: see what a respray costs and how long it lasts.

Common questions

A paint made for interior wood, such as a satinwood, eggshell, furniture or cupboard paint, over the primer your door surface needs. Which? says you need a primer and a top coat designed for wooden surfaces. Wall emulsion isn't made for doors.

No test read for this page settles it. Retailers say oil-based is harder-wearing; one solvent satinwood's own sheet says white solvent-based paints all discolour over time and recommends water-based for lasting whiteness. Water-based also dries faster and smells less.

Most sources lean to satin or eggshell. Wickes wouldn't recommend matt because it scuffs and marks easily; B&Q says matt can absorb stains; one DIY blogger avoids gloss because it shows every imperfection.

Choosing the colour

Read the rest of the label. One cupboard paint sold as needing no priming or sanding still says to abrade glossy or painted surfaces, and that it isn't a stain blocker. One self-priming satin still says rub down with medium sandpaper.

Under EN 13300, Class 1 means less than 5 microns of paint wore away after 200 wet scrubbing strokes, the best of five classes. It measures how well paint survives cleaning, not how well it resists knocks or chips.

It varies. Firms use water-based coatings, two-pack polyurethanes and trade lacquers. The trade lacquers read for this page are spray-only and labelled for professional use only; two-pack systems are mixed with a hardener and have a limited pot life.

Spraying and safety

Rather have it sprayed for you?

Send two photos of your kitchen and we'll price the respray from them. The quote costs you nothing.

Get my free photo quote